Skip to content

Constitution Reform Commission Sworn In

Constitution Reform Commission Sworn In

Constitution Reform Commission Sworn In

Constitution Reform Commission Sworn In
Constitution Reform Commission Sworn In

Today, at the Office of the President, a new Constitution Reform Commission was sworn in, marking a significant step forward in the country’s constitutional review process. The Commission comprises a diverse group of individuals tasked with overseeing this crucial aspect of governance.

Leading the Commission as Chairman is Justice Carl Ashok Singh, who brings a wealth of legal expertise to the role. He will be supported by a panel of Commissioners representing various sectors and interests within Guyanese society.

The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) has nominated the following members:

  1. Mohabir Anil Nandlall, SC.
  2. Gail Teixeira
  3. Dr. Frank Anthony
  4. Pauline Campbell-Sukhai
  5. Kwame McCoy

Representing the APNU/AFC coalition are:

  1. Vincent Alexander
  2. Sherwood Lowe
  3. Ganesh Mahipaul
  4. Nigel Hughes

Other representatives include:

  • Aslim Iqubal Singh, representing the Labour Movement
  • Derrick Rowan John, representing the National Toshaos’ Council
  • Ramesh Anand Persaud, representing the Private Sector
  • Joycelin Kim Kyte-Thomas, representing Women’s Organizations
  • Daniel Josh Kanhai, representing Youth Organizations
  • Keoma Denzil Griffith, representing Christian Organizations
  • Imran Ally, representing Muslim Organizations
  • Radha Krishna Sharma, representing Hindu Organizations
  • Adrian V. Anamayah, representing Farmers

Notably, some members are currently out of the country and will be sworn in at a later date. These include Timothy Munro Jonas, SC, representing A New and United Guyana (ANUG), the Liberty and Justice Party (LJP), and The New Movement (TNM); Kamal Shiromani Ramkarran, representing the Guyana Bar Association; and Keoma Denzil Griffith, who will serve as a Christian Organizations representative.

The Constitution Reform Commission holds a pivotal role in shaping the future of Guyana’s governance structure. It is tasked with engaging stakeholders, gathering feedback, and proposing amendments to the country’s constitution to ensure it remains relevant and reflective of the nation’s values and aspirations.

Also read Mother Appeals for Help as Daughter Suffers from Spinal Condition

1 thought on “Constitution Reform Commission Sworn In”

  1. Pingback: Firearms Found at Mackenzie Market - News Updates

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.